Fly from Here: Overture · Yes · 2011

Posted by

Fly from Here is YES‘ twentieth studio album. It is their first studio album since Magnification (2001), it is also the only one to feature Canadian singer Benoît David, and only the second album (after 1980’s Drama) without former singer Jon Anderson and with keyboardist Geoff Downes. The ‘Fly From Here lineup’ of David, Downes, bassist Chris Squire, guitarist Steve Howe and drummer Alan White was produced by Trevor Horn, who was the singer on Drama, and who had previously produced 90125 (1983) and a few tracks on Big Generator (1987).

The album originated from a conversation between producer Trevor Horn and YES bassist Chris Squire, who re-discovered the song ‘Fly From Here’ from the ‘Drama’ sessions and realized that it had never been recorded in a studio. “Chris and I were talking one evening about the song ‘Fly From Here’ that we never recorded,” explained Horn. “I said I was prepared to spend two weeks with YES recording that song. When I arrived in America to record it, I was taken prisoner by the band and only allowed my freedom again in return for producing the whole album. It was an offer I couldn’t refuse!”

The first recording sessions took place between October 3 – November 12, 2010 at SARM West Coast Studios in Los Angeles, before resuming in the first week of January 2011.

Artist Roger Dean, whose dreamy, other-worldly scenes have adorned many YES album covers, linked up with the band again for ‘Fly From Here’. His design for the cover was a painting he started in 1970 that had remained uncompleted.

In 2018, YES will release a new alternate version, ‘Fly From Here – Return Flight’ completely remixed and remastered by Trevor Horn, with vocals by Trevor throughout.


Leave a Reply